

Award winners of the 18th Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM)

Montreal, Saturday, November 21, 2015 – The Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM) will close tomorrow, Sunday November 22, after presenting 143 films and numerous parallel activities and events. The award winners for the 18th annual RIDM were announced this evening during the closing ceremony at Concordia University's Alumni Auditorium (H110).

GRAND PRIZE FOR BEST CANADIAN FEATURE

Presented by TV5, the Grand Prize for Best Canadian Feature is awarded to **Jean-François Lesage**'s **Un amour d'été**, the jury particularly appreciated this "ode to coexistence and joie de vivre that freezes time. A subtly political declaration celebrating the happiness that comes from being together; a nocturnal interlude whose deep appeal to the senses is underscored by remarkable imagery."

The jury also gave a special mention to **André-Line Beauparlant**'s **Pinocchio**.

BEST NEW TALENT FROM QUEBEC/CANADA

Presented by Post-Moderne, the award for Best New Talent from Quebec/Canada is presented to the director of the best first film in the Canadian Feature competition. The award goes to **Geneviève Dulude-De Celles**'s **Bienvenue à F.L.,** "A visually assured film, structurally mature, with a point of view that reveals all the charm of the age when anything is still possible."

The jurors for the Canadian Feature competition were Eve Duranceau, Francis Kandel and Paolo Moretti.

MAGNUS ISACSSON AWARD

The Magnus Isacsson Award is presented by the ACIC/NFB, ARRQ, Cinema Politica and Doc Québec. Created in 2012 in honour of the beloved Montreal documentary filmmaker Magnus Isacsson, this award is presented to an up-and-coming Canadian director for a work demonstrating social consciousness. This year, the winner is Jean-Sébastien Francoeur and Andrew Marchand-Boddy's *Retour aux sources*.

A special mention goes to *Manoir* directed by Martin Fournier and Pier-Luc Latulippe.

The members of the Magnus Isacsson Award jury were Jocelyne Clarke, Benjamin Hogue (Doc Québec), Sylvie Groulx (ARRQ), Annie Jean (editor) and Svetla Turnin (Cinema Politica).

BEST EDITING IN AN INTERNATIONAL FEATURE

The editing award was presented to **Saskia Berthod** and **Chantal Piquet** for their work on **Je suis le peuple** by **Anna Roussillon**, "an elegant and seamlessly structured chronicle of a revolution that weaves the local and the national as lived and seen by an unforgettable family in a province far from Tahrir Square."

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY IN AN INTERNATIONAL FEATURE

The award for cinematography was presented to **Diego Romero Suarez-Llanos** for his inventive work on **The Other Side** by **Roberto Minervini** "for his mastery of an embodied camera and intuitive choreography."

GRAND PRIZE FOR BEST INTERNATIONAL FEATURE

Presented by Bell Media, the Grand Prize for Best International Feature was awarded to *Homeland* (*Iraq Year Zero*) directed by **Abbas Fahdel**, "for a patient, sensitive, and restrained yet expansive film that generously offers an intimate and singular perspective on a family's and a nation's experience through war and occupation."

The jury gave a special mention to **Daniel Hui**'s **Snakeskin**.

The jurors for the International Feature competition were Sophie Leblond, Kim McCraw, Aily Nash, J.P. Sniadecki and Ivan Trujillo Bolo.

PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD

Presented by the CBC's documentary Channel, the winner of this award is chosen by festivalgoers from among all films in the Official Competition and Panorama sections. This year's winner is **Abbas Fahdel**'s *Homeland (Iraq Year Zero)*.

BEST INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM

Presented by Super Channel, the award for Best International Short Film went to **Guido Hendrikx**'s **Among us**, which "achieves a surprising intimacy through its candid and earnest inquiry into sexuality, distinguishing eros and libido in a provocative way."

The jury gave a special mention to *elle pis son char* by **Loïc Darses**.

BEST INTERNATIONAL MEDIUM-LENGTH FILM

Presented by Super Channel, the award for Best International Medium-Length Film was presented to **Khalik Allah**'s *Field Niggas*, "for its sustained immersion in a marginalized culture, for its site-specificity and direct encounter with its subjects and for its enigmatic contribution to an historical discourse on race in America."

The jury gave a special mention to Chloé Mahieu and Lila Pinell's Business Club

The jurors for the international short and medium-length competitions were Sara Archambault, Jay Kuehner and Claudie Lévesque.

STUDENT AWARD

Presented by the CSN and Telefilm Canada, in collaboration with STM, the Student award is given to a documentary selected by the Student Jury from among the films in the Canadian Competition.

This year's winner is **P.S. Jerusalem** directed by **Danae Elon.**

WOMEN INMATES' AWARD

The Inmates Jury is comprised of five women from the Joliette Institution (Johanne, Krystal, Madeleine, Marie-Josée and Yanie). The award is presented to the jury's favourite film from a selection of nine entries in the Official Competition and Panorama section. This year they chose **Jean-Sébastien Francoeur** and **Andrew Marchand-Boddy**'s **Retour aux sources**.

The award is presented in collaboration with Téléfilm Canada, the Quebec chapter of the Elizabeth Fry Society and the Entente sur le développement culturel de Montréal. The project is suppored by Quebec's Ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.

The 18th edition of the RIDM closes on Sunday, November 22, 2015. Information: www.ridm.qc.ca / info@ridm.qc.ca

-30-

Contact: Caroline Rompré | publicist | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca