

PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE DISTRIBUTION

Award winners of the 19th Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM)

Montreal, Saturday, November 19, 2016 - The Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM) will end tomorrow, Sunday, November 20. The award winners in our different competitions have been revealed today during our closing ceremony which happened at Concordia University - SGWU Alumni Auditorium (H-110).

GRAND PRIZE FOR BEST INTERNATIONAL FEATURE

"To a film that displays an astonishing range in its personal social depiction of working class China, all while adhering to rigorous formal constraints", the Best International Feature Award, presented by Bell Media, went to **Another Year** directed by **Shengze Zhu**.

The jury extended a special mention to *Tempestad* directed by Tatiana Huezo.

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY IN AN INTERNATIONAL FEATURE

"For its brazen go-for-broke visual style", the jury gave the Best Cinematography Award to **Brothers** of the Night directed by Patric Chiha.

BEST EDITING IN AN INTERNATIONAL FEATURE

"For making a multi-layered essay on the global politics of the refugee crisis out of what amounts to a single image", the Best Editing Award was given to *Havarie* directed by **Philip Scheffner**.

The jurors for the International Feature competition were Inti Cordera, Penny Lane, Khoa Lê, Rachael Rakes and Ingrid Veninger.

GRAND PRIZE FOR BEST CANADIAN FEATURE

"The jury was moved by this luminous film, which gives us an intimate and privileged look at all that is universal in the search for love and in our eternal need to build meaning". They awarded **Carlo Guillermo Proto** for **Resurrecting Hassan**.

A special mention was given to *Tales of Two Who Dreamt* directed by Andrea Bussmann and Nicolás Pereda.

BEST NEW TALENT FROM QUEBEC/CANADA

"The jury was mesmerized by the passion with which the filmmaker works toward an aesthetic of resistance by capturing the sensuality of the fighters' movements". The award for the Best New Talent, presented by Post-Moderne, was awarded to **Zaynê Akyol**'s **Gulîstan, Land of Roses**.

The jurors for the Canadian Feature competition were Miriam Fahmy, Jean-François Lesage and Jean-François Ruel.

BEST INTERNATIONAL SHORT OR MEDIUM-LENGTH FILM

The award for the Best International Short or Medium-Length Film went to *Isabella Morra* directed by **Isabel Pagliai.** *"This tender yet brutal film shows us a world where children are free and powerful, the masters of their kingdom. A direct film in which the most prosaic aspects of everyday life become fantastical; a post-apocalyptic work of shocking beauty".*

The jury was also unanimous in awarding two special mentions to celebrate the rich diversity of today's documentary cinema. They went to *Long Story Short* directed by **Natalie Bookchin** and *He Who Eats Children* directed by **Ben Russell**.

BEST CANADIAN SHORT OR MEDIUM-LENGTH FILM

"Because it transports the viewer to a distant, little-known world. It is a beautiful, sensitive depiction of one man's memories, hopes, regrets and struggles". The award for the Best Canadian Short or Medium-Length Film went to **The Botanist** by **Maude Plante-Husaruk** and **Maxime Lacoste-Lebuis**

The jurors in the Short and Medium-Length competitions were Xavier de la Vega, Gustavo Beck and Nadine Gomez.

PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD

Presented by TV5, the People's Choice Award was given to the audience's favourite documentary from the Official Competition and Panorama sections. The audience has chosen *Le goût d'un pays*, directed by **Francis Legault.**

MAGNUS ISACSSON AWARD

The Magnus Isacsson Award was created to honour the beloved Montreal documentary filmmaker Magnus Isacsson and is presented to a socially conscious work by an emerging Canadian director. Presented by the ARRQ, Cinema Politica, DOC Québec and Main Film, the award went to **Alethea Arnaquq-Baril** for **Angry Inuk**.

A special mention went to the *The Stairs* directed by Hugh Gibson.

The members of the Magnus Isacsson Award jury were Jocelyne Clarke, Nicolas Paquet (DOC Québec), Helen Doyle (ARRQ), Frank Le Coroller (assistant director) and Svetla Turnin (Cinema Politica).

STUDENT AWARD

The student award is given to a film from the Canadian Feature section. This initiative is part of the RIDM's youth program. *"For having immersed us in a reality that is very close to us and yet obscure, and for its disturbing, intimate perspective"*, the Student Award, supported by the CSN and Telefilm Canada, went to **Carlo Guillermo Proto** for *Resurrecting Hassan*.

A special mention was also given to *The Stairs* directed by Hugh Gibson.

WOMEN INMATES' AWARD

The Inmates' Jury is made up of five inmates of the Joliette Institution who award one the eight movies from the Official Competition and Panorama section, screened for them. Audrey, Sylvianne, Sonia, Roxanne and Lynn have chosen **Angry Inuk** directed by **Alethea Arnaquq-Baril**. "Its wonderful, meticulous direction highlighted the beauty of northern landscapes. Its powerful portrayal of a united people moved us. It took us outside our comfort zone, showed us every facet of a reality, and even changed our minds. Lastly, we want to salute the director's commitment to her cause".

They also gave a special mention to *Mr Gaga* directed by **Tomer Heymann.** The Women Inmates' Award is possible thanks to Telefilm Canada, the Quebec chapter of the Elizabeth Fry Society and the Entente sur le développement culturel de Montréal. The project is supported by the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ville de Montréal.

Quebec's only film festival dedicated to documentaries, the Montreal International Documentary Festival presents the best reality-based films, including the works of established directors and new talents.

The 19th edition of the RIDM closes tomorrow Sunday, November 20, 2016.

Information: www.ridm.ca / info@ridm.ca

-30-

Contact: Caroline Rompré | publicist | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca