Montreal International Documentary Festival

My Agenda

Search films, news, screening numbers and events by keywords

RIDM 21 Nov. - 01 Dec. 2024

Focus Bidayyat : nouveaux départs

This year, the Montreal International Documentary Festival returns with a new territorial Focus as it looks towards Syria through the Bidayyat organization. This program will consist of five screenings, three panels and a Masterclass.

Bidayyat is a Beirut-based Syrian production hub founded in the early days of the Syrian revolution. It was established with the intention of training young people in a tradition of Syrian and regional experimental documentary in order to tell the stories of ordinary people living in Syria during a time of revolution and war. Bidayyat has mentored dozens of young media activists, filmmakers, and writers, helping them produce over 50 shorts, 8 internationally acclaimed feature documentaries, and over 100 online publications.

Focus Bidayyat: New Beginnings highlights some of the inventive and award-winning films that have emerged directly or indirectly from the organization, whose activities have shifted towards the creation of archives. These creative documentaries pioneered new cinematic languages, in response to the rapid proliferation of affordable digital cameras and cell phone video used by Syrian citizens to document the reality and legitimacy of their revolt. They bear witness to the transformation of the lives of millions of Syrians by revolution and war.

Filmgoers can expect to discover Little Palestine, Diary of a Siege by Abdallah Al-Khatib, an elegy to Yarmouk, the former capital of the Palestinian diaspora, which withstood atrocities with dignity before being wiped off the map. In Still Recording by Saeed Albatal and Ghiath Ayoub, two art students from Damascus trade their carefree attitude for the revolution and move to Douma, a working-class suburb under rebel control. Our Terrible Country by Mohammad Ali Atassi and Ziad Homsi follows two dissidents who embark on a perilous journey from Damascus to Raqqa, then are eventually forced into exile in Türkiye as Syria tumbles into the abyss.

Focus Bidayyat also features two works by Rania Stephan: Threshold, a reworking of a 1987 Egyptian science-fiction film in which the audience becomes the main character, Mr. Kamel, a prisoner of time and space; and In Fields of Words: Conversations with Samar Yazbek, in which a writer and a filmmaker question the relationship between language and cinema as tools to represent war and violence.

The program is rounded out by Sara Fattahi’s Coma, about three generations of women who experience the drama of everyday life at an unprecedented time in Syria; and Tim Alsiofi‘s Douma Underground, which finds civilians seeking refuge in their basements as barrel bombs rain down on Ghouta.

Presented in collaboration with World Records, this series is supported by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and McGill University’s Critical Media Lab.

Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal

Mon agenda

Chercher par film, nouvelle, numéro de séance, activité ou mots-clés

RIDM 21 nov. - 01 déc. 2024

Focus Bidayyat : nouveaux départs

Cette année, les RIDM tournent leur regard vers la Syrie, dans le cadre d'un programme centré sur le groupe Bidayyat comprenant cinq projections, trois panels et une classe de maître.

Basé à Beyrouth et fondé dès les premiers jours de la révolution syrienne, Bidayyat est un incubateur de production dont l’objectif est d’initier de jeunes Syrien·ne·s aux traditions nationales et régionales de l’art documentaire. Afin de raconter le quotidien d’un peuple marqué par la guerre et la révolution, Bidayyat a pris sous son aile plus d’une dizaine de jeunes cinéastes, écrivain·e·s et artistes activistes, soutenant la création de plus de 50 courts métrages, 8 longs métrages encensés à l’international et une centaine d’articles parus en ligne.

Le Focus Bidayyat : nouveaux départs met en valeur quelques-uns des films inventifs et primés issus directement ou indirectement de l’organisation, dont les activités ont migré vers la création d’archives. Ces documentaires novateurs explorent un langage cinématographique né de la multiplication des caméras numériques et des téléphones cellulaires bon marché, contexte ayant permis aux Syrien·ne·s de documenter la réalité et la légitimité de leur révolte. Ainsi, les œuvres témoignent des bouleversements de la guerre et de la révolution vécus au quotidien par des millions de Syrien·ne·s.

Le public pourra y découvrir Little Palestine, Diary of a Siege de Abdallah Al-Khatib, une élégie dédiée à Yarmouk, ancienne capitale de la diaspora palestinienne, qui a résisté dignement à l’atrocité avant d’être rayée de la carte. Still Recording de Saeed Albatal et Ghiath Ayoub, où deux étudiant·e·s en art de Damas troquent leur insouciance contre la révolution et partent vivre à Douma, une ville de banlieue ouvrière sous le contrôle des rebelles. Our Terrible Country de Mohammad Ali Atassi et Ziad Homsi suit deux dissidents qui entament un périple dangereux qui les mènera de Damas à Raqqa, puis les forcera à s’exiler en Turquie alors que la Syrie bascule dans l’horreur.

Le focus comprend aussi deux œuvres de Rania Stephan dont Threshold, un remontage d’un film de science-fiction égyptien de 1987 où le public devient le personnage principal, M. Kamel, prisonnier du temps et de l’espace et In Fields of Words : Conversations with Samar Yazbek où une écrivaine et une cinéaste s’interrogent sur le rapport entre langage et cinéma comme moyens de représenter la violence de la guerre.À

Il est complété par Coma de Sara Fattahi, où trois générations de femmes vivent le drame de la vie ordinaire pendant une période extraordinaire en Syrie et Douma Underground de Tim Alsiofi, où les civils se réfugient dans leurs sous-sols pendant que des barils d’explosifs s’abattent sur la Ghouta.

Présenté en collaboration avec World Records, ce programme spécial est soutenu par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada et par le Critical Media Lab de l’Université McGill.

Au programme :