Montreal International Documentary Festival

fr My calendar

Search films, news, screening numbers and events by keywords

18 October 2018 Forum RIDM

Dévoilement de la programmation 2018

Doc Circuit Montreal announces its 2018 program 

Montreal, Tuesday, October 16, 2018 - The 14th edition of Doc Circuit Montreal (DCM) takes place from November 10 to 14. This year, DCM focuses on key issues in the documentary industry, particularly the professionalization and durability of producers’ and content creators’ careers through diversified funding, content platforms and formats. The forum will welcome more than 400 local and international delegates for some 30 activities touching on those topics. International co-production will be another major theme this year. 

Through activities related to international festivals and markets, contract and tax credit clinics, international co-production as well as inspired and inspiring talks, documentary professionals will have the opportunity to acquire new knowledge, make new connections and find new collaborators. 

In addition, local and international guest experts and buyers will provide insight on storytelling, new forms and new platforms, and on the funding of online content, series and virtual reality (VR) projects. 

DOC CIRCUIT MONTREAL HIGHLIGHTS 

Opening session : In conversation: Catherine Tait and Monique Simard | November 12 

In July 2018, Catherine Tait began a five-year term as the president and CEO of CBC/Radio-Canada. This experienced entrepreneur, producer, cultural attaché and former policy chief at Telefilm has worked in the film industry for more than 30 years. She joins Monique Simard, past president and CEO of SODEC, executive director of the NFB’s French-language program and producer, for a conversation about the state of CBC and her vision for the future. These two exceptional women, both among our industry’s leading experts, will launch Doc Circuit Montreal with an insightful discussion. 

VR:RV from Virtual to Reality | November 12 

Trajectories and Pierce the Darkness are VR projects developed over the course of a year as part of the Canada-Germany VR:RV exchange program. The teams behind the projects will give a presentation for a panel of industry experts. Topics will include funding, co-production, technology, writing and distribution. An initiative of the Goethe-Institut and MUTEK. 

Industry markets | November 12 

DCM brings filmmakers closer to programmers from the most prominent Canadian and international documentary markets of all types – funding, professional, co-production and pitch. Because they offer networking opportunities with partners who can enhance a project, these markets are essential gatherings for filmmakers. This panel’s participants, including representatives of the Marché du film de Cannes, 

FIDMarseille, DOK.fest Munich, Hot Docs and more, will discuss their activities and the growth opportunities available to documentary professionals. 

Cuban Hat Pitch | November 12 

The Cuban Hat Pitch is back for an eighth year. This time, six projects have been carefully chosen from the submissions and will be presented to the public at the Cuban Hat Pitch session. The famously lively event will culminate with the awarding of more than $50,000 in cash and services. The Cuban Hat Pitch, organized in collaboration with the Makila coop, demonstrates the community’s support for promising documentary projects. 

The BALADO ICI RADIO-CANADA PREMIÈRE Podcast Pitch | November 14 

This pitch session, for podcast creators and producers, will give selected participants the chance to present their podcast project to a jury of professionals and the DCM audience. Projects will be eligible to win the ICI RADIO-CANADA PREMIÈRE award, valued at $15,000 in the form of two months of development for producing their podcast with the team from ICI PREMIÈRE, which will also stream the finished product. 

Focus on co-production 

International co-production is now an essential option for documentary creators. Agreements between Telefilm and some 60 countries, the 2017 Eurimages agreements and the openness of documentary creators to international markets demonstrate the high level of interest in collaborating both financially and culturally with the entire world. Opportunities to meet and learn from international producers and decision makers are found throughout the three days of Doc Circuit Montreal, with activities designed to promote networking, collaboration and co-production. 

1. QC+BY DOC CO PROD | November 12 to 14 

 

Doc Circuit Montreal is pleased to announce a two-year agreement with DOK.forum Munich (Bavaria, Germany) that will support three producers from each of Quebec and Bavaria as they develop and finance their linear and digital documentary projects in Canada-Germany co-productions. The producers will visit DCM and DOK.forum over two years, and will be guided in their work by co-production experts and mentors. 

2. Co-production breakfast | November 13 

 

Over breakfast, the international producers attending DCM will meet local production companies for the purpose of forging new ties and launching new collaborations. Participants will be seated at tables for 8 to 10 people; each table will have Canadian and international producers and a moderator. 

3. Co-producing with Canada | November 14 

 

In this practical open workshop, international co-production experts will explore every facet of this collaboration type, including funding, administration and culture, with the aim of producing a checklist of essential tips and tricks for successfully assembling a first international co-production. 

R&D session: VFC Biomediæ | November 14 

Neuroscience is starting to transform the way films are produced, distributed and promoted. Now in prototyping, VFC Biomediæ is one of the first audience monitoring and analysis initiatives to benefit from recent affordable, user-friendly advances in neurotechnology. Producers, exhibitors and international agents are invited to a demonstration and feedback session for the new platform, entirely designed in Montreal. Produced by LMDP Co. with the financial support of SODEC, in collaboration with Doc Circuit Montreal. 

DCM WORKSHOPS 

Funds Roundtables | November 12 

These roundtables with 8 to 10 filmmakers and representatives of funding bodies will give documentary professionals the chance to ask funders detailed questions. During the three 30-minute sessions, participants will meet representatives of a variety of funds. Unlike a pitch session, this activity will allow participants to gain a better understanding of the types of projects that can be funded and sponsored within the criteria set by the different organizations. 

Production clinics | November 12 

Two practical clinics will be held in parallel with the round tables. In the first clinic, participants will meet a specialized attorney who can answer their production-related legal questions. In the second, a producer will give a detailed explanation of the calculations and administrative details of the Quebec and federal production tax credits. 

Doc Launch - Producer-Driven Marketing and Distribution | November 14 

The distribution of a feature documentary requires a carefully plotted strategy to generate maximum impact – whether in financial, cultural or social terms. This workshop will look at documentaries successfully marketed directly by their creators, rather than through traditional distributors. 

THE ONE-ON-ONE PITCHES | November 13 

The One-on-One is a full day of 15-minute meetings between documentary producers and directors and local and international decision makers. It is a unique opportunity for creators and decision makers to build new alliances and incubate new projects. In 2018, DCM will welcome more than 75 decision makers from six countries, including around 20 who will be attending for the first time. 

This year’s first-time guest decision makers include: 

Marché du film de Cannes/ FIPADOC (France) | Discovery Channel Canada | Dogwoof (UK) | FIDMarseille (France) | Marché Frontières (Canada) | Centre de création Périphérie (France) | Points North Institute (USA) | Seville International/Entertainment One (Canada) | Singular DTV (USA) | The Guardian (UK) | Tribeca Film Institute (USA) | Women Make Movies (USA) 

The distributors include: 

Les Films du 3 Mars (Quebec) | Filmoption International (Canada) | Films Transit International (Canada) | Kino Smith / Blue Ice Docs (Canada) | Diffusion Multi-Monde (Canada) | Taskovski Films (UK) | Travelling (Quebec) | Vice Media (Canada) 

The following broadcasters are returning: 

APTN (Canada) | ARTE GEIE (France) | CBC (Canada) | Canal D (Quebec) | Documentary Channel (Canada) | France Télévisions (France) | Knowledge Network (Canada) | Radio-Canada (Canada) | Télé-Québec (Quebec) | TV5/Unis (Canada) 

Numerous festival programmers will also be available for meetings, and several will participate in the À la rencontre des festivals event on Thursday, November 12. Programmers from the following events will attend DCM: 

Atlanta Film Festival (USA) | BAFICI (Argentina) | Camden International Film Festival (USA) | CPH:DOX (Denmark) | DOK.fest Munich (Germany) | Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival (Canada) | TRUE/FALSE (USA) | Visions du Réel (Switzerland) | VR World Forum (Switzerland) 

The complete list of decision makers is available online: 

ridm.ca/en/doc-circuit-montreal-2018/decision-makers-2018 

TALENT LAB 2018 | November 10 to 12 

DCM’s 5th annual Talent Lab will bring together 20 up-and-coming and mid-career Canadian creators for three days of specialized talks and exploratory workshops with select artists and experts. Participants will also be eligible for: 

  • one customized mentorship program for 6 participants 
  • the Canal D grant, in the form of a $10,000 development contract, for a Canadian French-language project 
  • the Peter Wintonick travel grant for participants from outside Quebec, thanks to the generous support of members of the Canadian documentary community 
  • the NFB’s French-language documentary studio will support a francophone project directed by one or more filmmakers based in Quebec in the form of development, selected from among the Talent Lab 2018 cohort, valued at $9,000 

 

ACCREDITATION 

Passes for the Doc Circuit Montreal talks and One-on-One are on sale until November 1 on the RIDM website: ridm.ca/en/doc-circuit-montreal-2018/dcm-accreditations-and-venues 

All activities (with certain exceptions) will take place at RIDM headquarters at the Cinémathèque québécoise (335 de Maisonneuve Blvd. East) and at the Centre Pierre-Péladeau (300 de Maisonneuve Blvd. East). Day passes (DCM à la carte) are available online and on-site. 

About Doc Circuit Montreal 

Each year, Doc Circuit Montreal organizes an intensive program of business meetings, talks, pitches and professional development workshops for documentary-industry professionals. 

The 14th edition of Doc Circuit Montreal (DCM) is made possible by the support of our institutional and primary partners: the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, SODEC, Telefilm Canada, the Bell Fund, the Rogers Documentary Fund, Canal D, the Canada Media Fund, the Canada Council for the Arts, DOC Québec, PRIM, the National Film Board of Canada; our associate partners, ACCT, AMI.Télé, SOCAN, APFC, AQPM; and collaborators Makila, Main Film, FCTMN, ARRQ, FRIC, Parabola Films, Kensington Communications, EYESTEELFILM, Bunbury Films, John Walker Productions, Invisible Hand Productions Inc., Intuitive Pictures, Colonelle Films, Cinema Politica, CTVM, DISPATCH, BDO, Zone Festival. 

The 14th annual DCM will take place from November 10 to 14, 2018 

at RIDM headquarters (335 de Maisonneuve Blvd. East) 

Download PDF

- 30 - 

For further information, please contact: 

Caroline Rompré | pixelleX communications | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca 

Newsletter

Discover the best in documentary, take part in our year-round activities, and make the most of your festival!

Newsletter subscription

Discover the best in documentary, take part in our year-round activities, and make the most of your festival!

Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal

en Mon agenda

Chercher par film, nouvelle, numéro de séance, activité ou mots-clés

18 Octobre 2018 Forum RIDM

Dévoilement de la programmation 2018

Le forum Doc Circuit Montréal 

dévoile sa programmation 2018 

Montréal, le mardi 16 octobre 2018 - La 14e édition de Doc Circuit Montréal (DCM) se tiendra du 10 au 14 novembre 2018. Cette année, DCM se penche sur les enjeux importants du milieu documentaire : la professionnalisation et la pérennisation des carrières des producteurs et des créateurs de contenu par la diversification des méthodes de financement, des plateformes de contenu et des formats. Le forum convie plus de 400 délégué.e.s du local et de l’international à prendre part à une trentaine d’événements sur ces thématiques où l'accent sera mis sur la coproduction internationale. 

À travers des activités liées aux marchés et festivals internationaux, aux cliniques sur le contrat et le crédit d’impôt, à la coproduction internationale ainsi que des conférences inspirées et inspirantes, les professionnel.le.s pourront accumuler de nouvelles connaissances, accroître leurs réseaux et trouver de nouveaux partenaires. 

De plus, les expert.e.s et les acheteur.euse.s invité.e.s d’ici et d’ailleurs offriront des perspectives actuelles sur l’écriture, les nouvelles formes et plateformes, ainsi que sur le financement du contenu en ligne, de la série et des projets de réalité virtuelle (RV). 

MOMENTS FORTS DU FORUM DOC CIRCUIT MONTRÉAL 

Conférence d’ouverture : En conversation: Catherine Tait et Monique Simard | 12 novembre 

En juillet 2018, Catherine Tait est entrée en poste à titre de présidente directrice générale de CBC/Radio-Canada pour un mandat de cinq ans. Entrepreneure, productrice d’expérience, ancienne chef des politiques à Téléfilm Canada, elle oeuvre dans le milieu cinématographique depuis plus de 30 ans. En conversation avec Monique Simard, ancienne présidente et chef de la direction de la SODEC, directrice générale du Programme français de l’ONF et productrice, Madame Tait présentera sa vision pour l’avenir du diffuseur public. Deux femmes d’exception, expertes de notre industrie, ouvriront avec perspicacité et lucidité cette édition 2018. 

VR:RV du Virtuel à la réalité | 12 novembre 

Les projets Trajectories et Pierce the Darkness, développés pendant un an dans le cadre de l’échange germano-canadien sur la réalité virtuelle VR:RV, seront présentés par leurs équipes respectives devant un panel d’expert.e.s de l’industrie. Les sujets abordés iront du financement à la coproduction, en passant par la technologie et la scénarisation, jusqu’à la distribution. Une initiative du Goethe-Institut et de MUTEK. 

À la Rencontre des marchés d’industrie | 12 novembre 

DCM propose d’aller à la rencontre des programmateur.trice.s des marchés professionnels, de financement et de coproduction, et de profiter des opportunités de pitchs les plus importantes du Canada et de l’international. Pour réseauter avec des partenaires qui pourront enrichir leurs projets, cette rencontre devient un rendez-vous 

incontournable des acteur.trice.s de la relève. Les participant.e.s de ce panel, comprenant entre autres des représentant.e.s du Marché du film de Cannes, du FIDMarseille, de DOK.fest Munich et de Hot Docs, présenteront leurs activités et toutes les opportunités de croissance offertes aux professionnel.le.s du documentaire. 

Le Pitch Cuban Hat | 12 novembre 

Le Pitch Cuban Hat est de retour pour une huitième édition. Six projets soigneusement sélectionnés parmi les soumissions seront présentés devant le public du Pitch Cuban Hat, réputé pour son entrain, dans l’espoir de gagner plus de 50 000$ en argent et en services. Le Pitch Cuban Hat, organisé en collaboration avec la coop Makila, démontre le soutien collectif de la communauté envers les projets documentaires prometteurs. 

Le Pitch Balado ICI RADIO-CANADA PREMIÈRE | 14 novembre 

Ce pitch permettra aux créateur.trice.s et producteur.trice.s de balado retenu.e.s de présenter leur projet de série devant un jury de professionnel.le.s et le public de DCM. Les participant.e.s courent la chance de remporter le prix ICI RADIO-CANADA PREMIÈRE d’une valeur de 15 000$ sous forme de deux mois de développement afin de réaliser leur projet de balado avec l’équipe de ICI PREMIÈRE et de le voir diffuser sur cette plateforme. 

Focus sur la coproduction 

La coproduction avec l’international est maintenant une considération essentielle dans le milieu du documentaire. Les protocoles d’entente entre Téléfilm et une soixantaine de pays, l’accord avec Eurimages de 2017 et l’ouverture des créateur.trice.s de documentaire vers les marchés internationaux démontrent l’intérêt à collaborer autant financièrement que culturellement avec le monde entier. Des opportunités de rencontres et d’apprentissage avec des décideur.se.s et producteur.trice.s de l’international sont réparties dans les trois jours de Doc Circuit Montréal pour favoriser le maillage, la collaboration, et encourager la coproduction. 

1. QC+BY DOC CO PROD | du 12 au 14 novembre 

 

Doc Circuit Montréal est heureux d’annoncer une entente de deux ans avec DOK.forum Munich en Bavière afin de soutenir trois producteur.trice.s du Québec et trois de l’Allemagne dans le développement et le financement de projets documentaires linéaires et numériques en coproduction entre les deux pays. Les producteur.trice.s visiteront DCM et DOK.forum sur deux ans, accompagné.e.s dans leurs démarches par des expert.e.s de la coproduction, ainsi que des mentors. 

2. Le déjeuner de coproduction | 13 novembre 

 

Autour d’un déjeuner, tou.te.s les producteur.trice.s de l’international invité.e.s à DCM rencontreront des compagnies de production locales afin de créer des liens et de nouvelles collaborations. Des tables de 8 à 10 personnes seront formées. Chaque table aura une personne à la modération afin de faciliter les échanges. 

3. Coproduire avec le Canada | 14 novembre 

 

Dans cet atelier pratique et ouvert, des expert.e.s en coproduction internationale se plongent dans tous les aspects de ce type de collaboration. Les aspects financiers, administratifs et culturels seront abordés afin de créer une liste d'astuces incontournables pour réussir sa première coproduction internationale. 

Session R&D: VFC Biomediæ | 14 novembre 

Les neurosciences viennent bousculer la manière de produire, distribuer et promouvoir le cinéma. Actuellement en phase de prototypage, VFC Biomediæ est l’une des premières initiatives de monitoring et d’analyse des auditoires tirant profit des récentes innovations neurotechnologiques abordables et conviviales. Les producteur.trice.s, diffuseurs et vendeur.euse.s de l’international sont invité.e.s à une séance de démonstration et de rétroaction de cette nouvelle plateforme entièrement conçue à Montréal. Produit par LMDP Co. avec le soutien financier de la SODEC, en collaboration avec Doc Circuit Montréal. 

LES ATELIERS DE DCM 

Tables rondes des fonds | 12 novembre 

Trois sessions de 30 minutes rassembleront 8 à 10 participant.e.s et représentant.e.s de fonds pour créer des opportunités d'échanges et de questionnements. À l’inverse du pitch, cette session permet de mieux comprendre quels types de projets peuvent être financés selon les critères des divers fonds présents. 

Cliniques de production | 12 novembre 

En parallèle des tables rondes auront lieu deux cliniques pratiques. Dans la première clinique, les participant.e.s pourront s'asseoir avec une avocate spécialisée et poser toutes leurs questions légales à propos de la production. Dans la deuxième clinique, une productrice expliquera en détails le calcul et l’administration du crédit d’impôt du Québec et du Canada. 

Doc : mise en marché et distribution alternative | 14 novembre 

La distribution d’un long métrage documentaire requiert une stratégie minutieuse pour créer un maximum d’impact. Plutôt que de travailler avec des compagnies de distribution classiques, cet atelier se penche sur le succès de documentaires mis en marché directement par leurs créateur.trice.s. 

LE FACE-À-FACE | 13 novembre 

Le Face-à-face est une journée complète de rencontres de 15 minutes entre des producteur.trice.s et réalisateur.trice.s documentaires et des décideur.euse.s locaux.ales et internationaux.ales. Il s’agit d’une occasion unique pour les créateur.trice.s et les décideurs de construire de nouvelles alliances et de faire naître de nouveaux projets. En 2018, DCM accueille plus de 75 décideur.euse.s de dix pays différents, dont une vingtaine seront présent.e.s pour la première fois. 

Parmi les nouveaux.elles décideur.euses.s cette année: 

Marché du film de Cannes/FIPADOC (France) | Discovery Channel Canada | Dogwoof (Royaume-Uni) | FIDMarseille (France) | Marché Frontières (Canada) | Centre de création Périphérie (France) | Points North Institute (États-Unis) | Seville International/Entertainment One (Canada) | SingularDTV (États-Unis) | The Guardian (Royaume-Uni) | Tribeca Film Institute (États-Unis) | Women Make Movies (États-Unis) 

Parmi les distributeurs, on pourra compter entre autres: 

Les Films du 3 Mars (Québec) | Filmoption International (Canada) | Films Transit International (Canada) | Kino Smith / Blue Ice Docs (Canada) | Diffusion Multi-Monde (Canada) | Taskovski Films (Royaume-Uni) | Travelling (Québec) | Vice Media (Canada) 

Les télédiffuseurs suivants seront de retour: 

APTN (Canada) | ARTE GEIE (France) | CBC (Canada) | Canal D (Québec) | Documentary Channel (Canada) | France Télévisions (France) | Knowledge Network (Canada) | Radio-Canada (Canada) | Télé-Québec (Québec) | TV5/Unis (Canada) 

De nombreux.euses programmateur.trice.s de festivals seront également disponibles pour des rendez-vous et plusieurs participeront à l’événement À la rencontre des festivals, le lundi 12 novembre. Seront présent.e.s : 

Atlanta Film Festival (États-Unis) | BAFICI (Argentine) | Camden International Film Festival (États-Unis) | CPH:DOX (Danemark) | DOK.fest Munich (Allemagne) | Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival (Canada) | TRUE/FALSE (États-Unis) | Visions du Réel (Suisse) | VR World Forum (Suisse) 

La liste complète des décideur.euse.s présent.e.s est disponible en ligne : 

ridm.ca/fr/doc-circuit-montreal-2018/decideurs-2018 

LE TALENT LAB 2018 | 10 au 12 novembre 

La 5e édition du Talent Lab de DCM rassemblera un groupe de 20 créateur.trice.s canadien.ne.s émergent.e.s ou à mi-carrière, pendant trois journées de conférences spécialisées et d’ateliers exploratoires avec une sélection d’artistes et d’expert.e.s. Les participant.e.s seront également éligibles à: 

un programme de mentorat sur mesure pour 6 participant.e.s 

une bourse Canal D sous forme de contrat de développement de 10 000$ remise à un projet canadien francophone 

une bourse de déplacement Peter-Wintonick ira à des participant.e.s hors-Québec, grâce au soutien de membres généreux.euses de la communauté documentaire canadienne 

● une première reconnaissance du Studio documentaire du programme français de l’ONF sous forme de développement d’un projet francophone réalisé par un.e cinéaste basé.e au Québec choisi.e parmi la cohorte du Talent Lab 2018, pour une valeur de 9 000$ 

 

ACCRÉDITATION 

L’accréditation pour les conférences de Doc Circuit Montréal et le Face-à-face est en vente jusqu’au 1er novembre sur le site des RIDM : ridm.ca/fr/doc-circuit-montreal-2018/accreditations-et-salles 

Tous les événements (sauf exception) auront lieu au Quartier général des RIDM à la Cinémathèque québécoise (335, boul. de Maisonneuve Est) et au Centre Pierre-Péladeau (300, boul. de Maisonneuve Est). Des billets DCM à la carte donnant accès à toutes les conférences par journée seront en vente en ligne et sur place. 

À propos de Doc Circuit Montréal 

Doc Circuit Montréal propose chaque année un programme intensif de rencontres d’affaires, de conférences, de pitchs et d’ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel. 

La 14e édition de Doc Circuit Montréal (DCM) est rendue possible grâce au soutien des partenaires institutionnels et principaux : le Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, la SODEC, Téléfilm Canada, le Fonds Bell, le Fonds de financement Rogers pour le cinéma documentaire, Canal D, le Fonds des médias du Canada, le Conseil des arts du Canada, DOC Québec, le centre PRIM, l’Office Nationale du Film, ainsi qu’aux partenaires associés ACCT, AMI.Télé, SOCAN, APFC, AQPM, et aux collaborateur.trice.s Makila, Main Film, FCTMN, ARRQ, FRIC, Parabola Films, Kensington Communications, EYESTEELFILM, Bunbury Films, John Walker Productions, Invisible Hand Productions Inc., Intuitive Pictures, Colonelle Films, Cinema Politica, CTVM, DISPATCH, BDO, Zone Festival. 

La 14e édition de DCM aura lieu du 10 au 14 novembre 2018 

au Quartier général des RIDM (335, boul. de Maisonneuve Est) 

 

Télécharger le PDF

 

- 30 - 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter : 

Caroline Rompré | pixelleX communications | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca 

Infolettre

Découvrez le meilleur du documentaire, prenez part à nos activités à l’année, et ne manquez rien du festival!

Abonnement à l'infolettre

Découvrez le meilleur du documentaire, prenez part à nos activités à l’année, et ne manquez rien du festival!