Montreal International Documentary Festival

fr

Search films, news, screening numbers and events by keywords

12 April 2022 Forum RIDM

The Forum RIDM flies to Cannes once again!

Montreal, April 12, 2022 – The Forum RIDM is pleased to be back for a fourth consecutive year with Docs-In-Progress - Canadian Showcase at the Cannes Film Market in partnership with Telefilm Canada and in collaboration with the Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival (Toronto). Docs-In-Progress gives the opportunity to producers and filmmakers of four selected Canadian projects that are currently in production to fly to Cannes and present their films to an audience of buyers, distributors, festival programmers and international sales agents.

 

The Cannes Film Market, a crucial event for film industry professionals, is returning to its in-person format and will take place from May 17 to 25, 2022.

 

Prior to the event, the Forum RIDM will offer participants pitch training and personalized workshops for their presentation at the Cannes Film Market. Docs-In-Progress will be an opportunity for these producers and filmmakers to pitch their project and present an excerpt of it in the hopes of launching their film on the international market.

 

The projects selected for the Docs-In-Progress - Canadian Showcase 2022 are the following:

 

Back Home

Director: Nisha Platzer

Producer: Joella Cabalu

 

Nisha Platzer is a queer artist and filmmaker from Vancouver who graduated from the Escuela Internacional de Cine y Televisión in Cuba. Her films meld sounds and imagery that you can dream and drown in. Her last short film, Vaivén (2020) won the best film award at aluCine Latin Film + Media Arts Festival and competed at festivals worldwide including Raindance, Festival du nouveau cinéma, FIDBA and Ji.hlava IDFF. Her work has been supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, the BC Arts Council and the National Film Board of Canada. She teaches handmade film workshops and is a member of Iris Film Collective. An alumnus of IDFAcademy, the VIFF mentorship program, and the Hot Docs Doc Accelerator Lab, her work can be found in music videos, narrative and experimental films.

 

Joella Cabalu is a Filipino Canadian documentary filmmaker based in Vancouver. Her films lay bare narratives about intimacies, identities, and relationships. Her first mid-length documentary, It Runs in the Family (2015) — a personal exploration of acceptance and what the modern queer family can be in the Filipino diaspora — won the Audience Choice Awards at the Seattle Asian American Film Festival and Vancouver Queer Film Festival and a special jury mention at CAAMFest for the Loni Ding Award for Social Justice Documentary. Joella has worked as a producer alongside women directors to realize critically acclaimed short documentaries, including Born Identities (TIFF 2021), On Falling (Tribeca 2020), Biker Bob’s Posthumous Adventure (MDFF 2019), Do I Have Boobs Now? (Slamdance 2017), and FIXED! (DOXA 2017).

 

Caiti Blues

Director: Justine Harbonnier

Producer: Nellie Carrier

 

At the end of her studies in literature, Justine Harbonnier, who lives between France and Canada, directed her first short documentary film: Il y a un ciel magnifique et tu filmes Angèle Bertrand. Distributed by SPIRA (Canada), the film had its world premiere at MoMA in New York. Between directing more experimental projects, including the video poem Terrain Vague, distributed by the Maison de la poésie de Montréal, Justine has collaborated in the development of documentary films for production companies. Her second short film, Andrew Keegan Is Moving, shown in numerous festivals (FID Marseille, RIDM, DOXA), explores the social transformation of a territory.

 

A producer and director from Lévis, Canada, Nellie Carrier began her career as a production manager and line producer for production companies Voyelles Films and Art et essai. In 2016, Nellie produced her first feature film, Sashinka by Kristina Wagenbauer (FNC, Seattle International Film Festival, Canadian Screen Awards, Iris 2019). In 2017, she created the company Cinquième maison where she’s made several short films, including Amies (TIFF 2018), Cherche femme forte (Best Short Film at Berlin Short Film Festival 2020, three Prends ça court! 2020 awards) and Nuit blonde (Gabrielle Demers). She also co-produced Marie-Ève Juste’s short film As Spring Comes (TIFF, FNC 2020) and This House (Miryam Charles, Berlinale Forum 2022), both produced by Embuscade Films.

 

Meezan

Director and producer: Shahab Mihandoust

 

Shahab Mihandoust is an Iranian-Canadian filmmaker who received his BFA in Cinema in 2014. His practice stands at the intersection between cinema and research. Inspired by ethnographic approaches to research and creation, his work deals with issues of identity and labor in relation to natural and built environments to study how social, cultural and political processes affect people and places. His goal in his practice is to ask how our everyday social and sensorial experiences are formed in response to current circumstances and transformations of our environments. Zagros, his first feature documentary, follows the artisanal creation of carpets across the Western mountains of Iran. Zagros has been shown and awarded internationally in several documentary and ethnographic festivals. Currently, he’s working on Meezan, his second feature documentary, that reflects on labor and everyday life in the border province of Khuzestan, Iran.

 

Yintah

Co-directors: Michael Toledano, Jennifer Wickham, and Brenda Mitchell

Co-producers: Jennifer Wickham, Brenda Michell, Michael Toledano, and Franklin Lopez

 

Jennifer Wickham is Wet’suwet’en, and belongs to the Cas Yikh (Grizzly House) of the Gidimt’en canadian first nation clan. Jennifer grew up in and around Wet’suwet’en territory, and has actively participated in the nation’s governance system since 2006. Her background is in writing and Indigenous resurgence, with a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Victoria. She has worked as an educator, a mental health advocate, and community support worker. She is a founding member of the Indigenous Life School on Wet’suwet’en territory. From 2018 to 2020, Jennifer worked as the Executive Director of the Witsuwit’en Language and Culture Society. During this time, Jennifer managed media relations and communications for the Gidimt’en Camp.

 

Michael Toledano is a filmmaker and journalist based in British Columbia, Canada, effectively living at the Unist’ot’en Camp for the past two years. Michael has a strong background in photojournalism and documentary filmmaking, and has co-produced several documentaries with VICE Canada on Indigenous communities on the frontlines of Canada’s environmental conflicts. He is known for vibrant, ground-level documentation of social movements ranging from Black Lives Matter Toronto to No One is Illegal.

 

Brenda Mitchell is Chief K-eltiy of the Unist'ot'en people of the Wet'suwet'en Nation. She has lived in the Wet'suwet'en communities of Witset and Burns Lake all her life, and was groomed to participate in Wet'suwet'en governance from a young age. Brenda is trained as a Wet'suwet'en language instructor and has worked as a post-secondary education coordinator for the Lake Babine Nation Band for decades. Brenda is a grandmother of ten and this fight is about protecting the Yintah for her grandchildren. She believes that this film is an important way to tell her people’s story and listen to the words of her Grandmother Knedebeas who always told her children, “Don’t let no white man take my yintah.”

 

Born in San Juan, Puerto Rico, producer and editor Franklin López has been making political films for over 30 years, with a focus on social justice and environmental issues. He has published hundreds of films online since 1998 under the name subMedia, which have been watched by millions, broadcast on international TV networks and screened in alleyways and movie theaters all around the world.

 

 

About Telefilm Canada

As a Partner of Choice, Telefilm Canada is a Crown corporation dedicated to the success of Canada’s audiovisual industry, fostering access and excellence by delivering programs that support cultural resonance and audience engagement. With a lens of equity, inclusivity and sustainability, Telefilm bolsters dynamic companies and a range of creative talent at home and around the world. Telefilm also makes recommendations regarding the certification of audiovisual coproduction treaties to the Minister of Canadian Heritage, and administers the programs of the Canada Media Fund. Launched in 2012, the Talent Fund raises private donations which principally support emerging talent. Website | Twitter | Facebook

 

About Hot Docs

Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival is North America’s largest documentary festival, conference and market. Every year, Hot Docs presents an outstanding selection of approximately 200 documentaries from Canada and around the world to audiences and international delegates in Toronto. Hot Docs also mounts a full roster of conference sessions, market events and services for documentary practitioners, including the renowned Hot Docs Forum, Hot Docs Deal Maker and the Doc Shop. Hot Docs also owns the Hot Docs Ted Rogers Cinema, a century-old landmark located in Toronto’s Annex neighborhood.

 

About Forum RIDM

The professional market organized in parallel with the festival hosts a dozen activities for documentary professionals, including workshops and presentations, and facilitates more than 1,500 business meetings.

 

From left to right and up to bottom: Nisha Platzer, Joella Cabalu, Justine Harbonnier, Nellie Carrier, Shahab Mihandoust, Jennifer Wickham, Michael Toledano.

 

The Forum RIDM will take place from November 19 to 23, 2022.

Information: ridm.ca/en/forum-ridm / info@ridm.ca

Facebook - Twitter - Instagram

 

- 30 -

 

For interview or visual material requests, please contact:

Caroline Rompré | pixelleX communications | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca

 

 

Newsletter

Discover the best in documentary, take part in our year-round activities, and make the most of your festival!

Newsletter subscription

Discover the best in documentary, take part in our year-round activities, and make the most of your festival!

Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal

en

Chercher par film, nouvelle, numéro de séance, activité ou mots-clés

12 Avril 2022 Forum RIDM

Le Forum RIDM s’envole vers Cannes, une fois de plus!

Montréal, le 12 avril 2022 – Le Forum RIDM est heureux d'annoncer, pour une quatrième année consécutive, la tenue du Docs-In-Progress - Showcase canadien au Marché du Film du Festival de Cannes en partenariat avec Téléfilm Canada et en collaboration avec le Festival international canadien du documentaire Hot Docs (Toronto). Le Docs-In-Progress permettra aux producteur·trice·s et cinéastes sélectionné·e·s de s’envoler pour Cannes afin de présenter leurs projets canadiens en cours de production devant un parterre d’acheteur·euse·s, de distributeur·trice·s, de programmateur·trice·s de festivals et d’agent·e·s de ventes de l’international.

 

Le Marché du Film du Festival de Cannes, rendez-vous incontournable pour les professionnel·le·s de l'industrie, revient à sa formule en présentiel et aura lieu du 17 au 25 mai 2022.

 

En amont, le Forum RIDM offrira une formation de pitch et assurera un accompagnement personnalisé pour leur présentation au Marché du Film. Le Docs-In-Progress sera l’occasion pour ces producteur·trice·s et cinéastes de présenter leur projet ainsi que d’en montrer un extrait afin de lancer leur film sur le marché international.

 

Les projets sélectionnés pour le Docs-In-Progress - Showcase Canadien 2022 sont les suivants :

 

Back Home

Réalisatrice : Nisha Platzer

Productrice : Joella Cabalu

Nisha Platzer est une artiste et réalisatrice queer de Vancouver diplomée de l'Escuela Internacional de Cine y Televisión de Cuba. Ses films mêlent sons et images dans lesquels on peut rêver et s’immerger. Son dernier court métrage, Vaivén (2020), a remporté le prix du meilleur film au aluCine Latin Film + Media Arts Festival et a été sélectionné par des festivals du monde entier, dont Raindance, le Festival du nouveau cinéma, FIDBA et Ji.hlava IDFF. Son travail a été soutenu par le Conseil des Arts du Canada, le BC Arts Council et l'Office national du film du Canada. Elle donne des ateliers de cinéma artisanal et est membre du Iris Film Collective. Ancienne élève de l'IDFAcademy, du programme de mentorat du VIFF et du Hot Docs Doc Accelerator Lab, son travail se retrouve dans des vidéos musicales, des films narratifs et des films expérimentaux.

 

Joella Cabalu est une réalisatrice de documentaires philippino-canadienne qui vit à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Ses films mettent à nu des récits sur l'intimité, les identités et les relations humaines. Son premier moyen métrage documentaire, It Runs in the Family (2015), une exploration personnelle de l'acceptation et de ce que peut être la famille queer moderne dans la diaspora philippine, a remporté le prix du public au Seattle Asian American Film Festival et au Vancouver Queer Film Festival, ainsi qu'une mention spéciale du jury au CAAMFest pour le prix Loni Ding du documentaire sur la justice sociale. Joella a travaillé en tant que productrice aux côtés de réalisatrices de courts métrages documentaires acclamés par la critique, notamment Born Identities (TIFF 2021), On Falling (Tribeca 2020), Biker Bob's Posthumous Adventure (MDFF 2019), Do I Have Boobs Now? (Slamdance 2017), et FIXED! (DOXA 2017).

 

Caiti Blues

Réalisatrice : Justine Harbonnier

Productrice : Nellie Carrier

 À la fin de ses études en littérature, Justine Harbonnier, qui vit et travaille entre la France et le Canada, réalise son premier court métrage documentaire, Il y a un ciel magnifique et tu filmes Angèle Bertrand. Diffusé par SPIRA (Canada), le film a été projeté en première mondiale au MoMA de New York. Entre la réalisation de projets plus expérimentaux, dont le vidéo-poème Terrain Vague diffusé par la Maison de la poésie de Montréal, Justine a collaboré au développement de films documentaires pour des sociétés de production. Son deuxième court métrage, Andrew Keegan déménage, montré dans de nombreux festivals (FID Marseille, RIDM, DOXA), explore la transformation sociale d'un territoire.

 Productrice et réalisatrice originaire de Lévis, au Québec, Nellie Carrier a débuté sa carrière en tant que directrice de production et productrice déléguée pour les sociétés de production Voyelles Films et Art et essai. En 2016, Nellie produit son premier long métrage, Sashinka de Kristina Wagenbauer (Festival du nouveau cinéma, Festival international du film de Seattle, Prix Écrans canadiens 2019, Iris 2019). En 2017, elle crée la société Cinquième maison où elle réalise plusieurs courts métrages, dont Amies (TIFF 2018), Cherche femme forte (Prix du meilleur court métrage au Berlin Short Film Festival 2020, deux prix Prends ça court! 2020) et Nuit blonde. Elle a également coproduit le court métrage de Marie-Ève Juste Comme la neige au printemps (TIFF, FNC 2020) et Cette Maison (Miryam Charles, Berlinale Forum 2022), tous deux produits par Embuscade Films.

 

Meezan

Réalisateur et producteur : Shahab Mihandoust

Shahab Mihandoust est cinéaste irano-canadien diplômé en 2014 d’un baccalauréat en cinéma, dont la pratique se situe à l'intersection entre le cinéma et la recherche. Inspiré par les approches ethnographiques de la recherche et de la création, son œuvre traite des questions d'identité et de travail, en relation avec les environnements naturels et construits, pour étudier comment les processus sociaux, culturels et politiques affectent les gens et les lieux. Son objectif est de questionner comment nos expériences sociales et sensorielles quotidiennes sont formées en réponse aux circonstances actuelles et aux transformations de nos environnements. Zagros, son premier long métrage documentaire, qui a été présenté et récompensé au niveau international dans plusieurs festivals documentaires et ethnographiques, suit la création artisanale de tapis dans les montagnes occidentales de l'Iran. Il travaille actuellement sur Meezan, son deuxième long métrage documentaire, qui traite du travail et de la vie quotidienne dans la province frontalière du Khuzestan, en Iran.

 

Yintah

Coréalisateur·trice·s : Michael Toledano, Jennifer Wickham et Brenda Michell

Coproducteur·trice·s : Jennifer Wickham, Brenda Mitchell, Michael Toledano et Franklin López

 

Jennifer Wickham est Wet'suwet'en, une première nation de la Colombie-Britannique au Canada, et appartient à la Cas Yikh (Maison Grizzly) du clan Gidimt'en (Ours). Jennifer a grandi sur le territoire Wet'suwet'en et aux alentours, et participe activement au système de gouvernance de la nation depuis 2006. Elle détient une formation en écriture et en résurgence autochtone, ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en arts de l'Université de Victoria. Elle a travaillé en tant qu'éducatrice, défenseure de la santé mentale et travailleuse de soutien communautaire. Elle est membre fondatrice de l'école de vie indigène sur le territoire Wet'suwet'en. De 2018 à 2020, Jennifer a travaillé en tant que directrice générale de la Witsuwit'en Language and Culture Society. Pendant cette période, Jennifer a géré les relations avec les médias et les communications pour le camp Gidimt'en.

 

Michael Toledano est un cinéaste et journaliste qui vit en Colombie-Britannique, au Canada. Depuis deux ans, il vit plus exactement dans le camp Unist'ot'en. Michael a une solide expérience en photojournalisme et en réalisation de documentaires. Il en a coproduit plusieurs avec VICE Canada sur les communautés indigènes qui sont en première ligne des conflits environnementaux au Canada. Il est connu pour sa documentation vivante et réaliste des mouvements sociaux, de Black Lives Matter Toronto à No One is Illegal.

 

Brenda Mitchell est la Chef K-eltiy du peuple Unist'ot'en de la Nation Wet'suwet'en au Canada. Elle a vécu toute sa vie dans les communautés Wet'suwet'en de Witset et Burns Lake, et a été préparée à participer à la gouvernance Wet'suwet'en dès son plus jeune âge. Brenda a une formation d'instructeur de langue Wet'suwet'en et a travaillé comme coordinatrice de l'éducation post-secondaire pour la bande de la nation Lake Babine pendant des décennies. Brenda est une grand-mère de dix enfants et ce combat vise à protéger les Yintah pour ses petits-enfants. Elle pense que ce film est un moyen important de raconter l'histoire de son peuple et d'écouter les paroles de sa grand-mère Knedebeas qui disait toujours à ses enfants : "Ne laissez pas un homme blanc prendre mon yintah".

 

Né à San Juan, Porto Rico, le producteur et monteur Franklin López réalise des films politiques depuis plus de 30 ans, en mettant l'accent sur la justice sociale et les questions environnementales. Il a publié des centaines de films en ligne depuis 1998 sous le nom de subMedia, qui ont été regardés par des millions de personnes, diffusés sur des réseaux de télévision internationaux et projetés dans des ruelles et des cinémas du monde entier.

 

 

À propos de Téléfilm Canada

En tant que Partenaire de choix, Téléfilm Canada est une société d’État vouée à la réussite de l’industrie audiovisuelle canadienne, qui favorise l’accès et l’excellence en offrant des programmes qui appuient la résonance culturelle et l’engagement du public. Téléfilm soutient les entreprises dynamiques et les talents créatifs au pays et dans le monde, en considérant toujours ses objectifs d’équité, d’inclusion et de durabilité. De plus, elle formule des recommandations auprès du ministère du Patrimoine canadien concernant la certification des coproductions audiovisuelles régies par des traités, et elle administre les programmes du Fonds des médias du Canada. Lancé en 2012, le Fonds des talents accepte des dons privés qui servent principalement à soutenir les talents émergents. Site web | Twitter | Facebook

 

À propos de Hot Docs

Le Festival international canadien du documentaire Hot Docs est le plus grand festival, congrès et marché du documentaire d’Amérique du Nord. Chaque année, Hot Docs présente une sélection exceptionnelle de plus de 200 films documentaires du Canada et du monde au public et aux délégués internationaux réunis à Toronto. Hot Docs organise également un ensemble complet de conférences, rencontres de marché et services offerts aux professionnel·le·s du documentaire, dont les réputés Hot Docs Forum, Hot Docs Deal Maker et Doc Shop. Hot Docs possède également le Hot Docs Ted Rogers Cinema, un bâtiment patrimonial vieux d’un siècle situé dans le quartier Annex de Toronto.

 

À propos du Forum RIDM

Le Forum RIDM vise à stimuler la production et la diffusion nationale et internationale de documentaires indépendants, en favorisant notamment l’échange d’informations et les rencontres entre les différent·e·s acteur·trice·s du secteur documentaire. Tables rondes, conférences et ateliers autour d’enjeux actuels majeurs réunissent pendant cinq jours plus de 300 cinéastes, producteur·trice·s, télédiffuseurs et distributeur·trice·s.

 

De gauche à droite et de haut en bas : Nisha Platzer, Joella Cabalu, Justine Harbonnier, Nellie Carrier, Shahab Mihandoust, Jennifer Wickham, Michael Toledano.

 

La 18e édition du Forum RIDM se tiendra du 19 au 23 novembre 2022.

Informations : ridm.ca/fr/forum-ridm / info@ridm.ca

Facebook - Twitter - Instagram

 


-30-

 

Pour toutes demandes d’entrevues ou matériel visuel, veuillez contacter :

Caroline Rompré | pixelleX communications | 514-778-9294 | caroline@pixellex.ca

Infolettre

Découvrez le meilleur du documentaire, prenez part à nos activités à l’année, et ne manquez rien du festival!

Abonnement à l'infolettre

Découvrez le meilleur du documentaire, prenez part à nos activités à l’année, et ne manquez rien du festival!